How I was affected by J. K. Rowling fever, by Lucia Dino Guida

I recently saw for the first time the new Harry Potter film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, written and produced by J.K. Rowling. I had never paid too much attention to the whole Harry Potter & Co. stuff, but as soon as the news about J. K. Rowling’s new project broke out, there wasn’t a single person on earth who didn’t know what Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them was, and all I could hear and see was people freaking out for something they hadn’t even seen yet. I learnt too that the film had been nominated for five BAFTAs and won an Oscar for Best Costume Design. I was surprised by the news because I have never been a big Harry Potter fan, or at least, I didn’t use to be. However, I thought I shouldn’t keep myself in the dark anymore, but try to find out why everyone seemed so affected by this J. K. Rowling fever (as I call it), so I decided to watch the new film.

As soon as it began, I was mesmerized by the world I had stepped into. America, the roaring 20s, magic, incredible beasts and a sweet, clumsy, clever magizoologist named Newt Scamander, who happens to be the fictional author of a book entitled Fantastic Beasts and where to find them. As I watched, everything became clear. I finally knew why the world seemed to be affected by J.K. Rowling fever. All Newts Scamander’s adventure companions share the same good-hearted nature and sense of amazement at what happens to them, and you can actually relate to each one of the characters. However, what makes you truly gasp constantly is the sudden appearance of a mysterious dark force that hunts and kills some of the characters when least expected. The mystery of this invisible dark force is what makes the plot interesting and thrilling. In addition to the perfect story, the costumes and the special effects were amazing and detailed. For two hours I felt like I was living in my own dreams. It was as if I was there, experiencing all those incredible things.
The film actually makes you feel better. It reminds you that magic is not just a matter of enchantments and potions, but is present in our muggle-world in the shape of true friendship, love for animals and good people who still have the right to believe in a happy ending. It’s a story that gives you hope and reminds you of the values everyone seems to have forgotten about. Through her stories, J.K. Rowling has been able to give our hopes a more concrete form. She found her way to tell the world that magic walks with us, in our true, imperfect reality and this is just another representation of how much we need people to tell us that magic is not just something we find in children’s fairytales. That is why, as soon as the film ends, you feel like something has been taken from you and a sense of nostalgia takes over, even though you are happy to have experienced such unimaginable things somehow.
In case you’re wondering, yes, I have officially been affected by J.K. Rowling fever and I’m grateful for it. So, here’s some advice, if you don’t know what I’m talking about and you have never watched or read anything by J.K. Rowling, I think it’s time for you to start, so just go and be affected.
Leave a Reply

